News Articles

Pathways Position

The Cookeville area office has 1 vacancy for a Pathways Position (student trainee) for the Engineering Department.  The position was posted on the following website on March 23, 2017.  If you are interested or know someone that would be interested in this wonderful opportunity please have them go to the following wesbite:  The deadline for applications is Monday, April 3, 2017

Supervisor Election





 The State Soil Conservation Committee has requested that a local advisory committee conduct an election to fill expiring terms for three positions on the Putnam County Soil Conservation District Board of Supervisors.


 The election will be held on Friday, March 18, 2016, with voting conducted at the following polling places:


Putnam Farmers Co-op, 541 W. Broad St, Cookeville

Agricultural Service Center, 900 S. Walnut Ave, Cookeville


The election will be held from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

 Per TCA 43-14-216, only persons holding legal title to lands within Putnam County are eligible to vote in this election.


 The candidates in the election are:


Gary Brewington

Seth Gilbert

Tommy Grider

Greg Maxwell

Wayne Moss

Sam Tays


Quick Contact

Questions? Comments? Feel free to send us a quick message!

Our Mission

The mission of the Putnam County Soil Conservation District is to protect and conserve the natural resources of the county for landowners, land users, units of government, educators and organizations by finding and taking available technical, financial, and educational resources and making them available to our clients without regard to race, color, national origin, sex, religions, age, disability, political beliefs, and marital or familial status.

Our History

The Putnam County Soil Conservation District, organized under the provisions of the Tennessee SCD Enabling Act of 1939, officially became a soil conservation district on February 19, 1941, following a referendum in which 322 landowners voted for and 16 against the organization.



The referendum was held at four polling places, namely Double Springs, Cookeville, Baxter, and Twin Oak communities....

Read More